fbpx
Every Single TX Republican Voted AGAINST Protecting Access To Contraceptives

Every Single TX Republican Voted AGAINST Protecting Access To Contraceptives

If you weren’t already aware that Republicans are intentionally working to roll back the clock 100 years, look no further than this vote.

On June 7, 1965, the Supreme Court decided in a 7-2 vote that the Constitution did protect the right of marital privacy against state restrictions on contraception. The case was Griswold v. Connecticut, and it freely gave American women access to birth control without interference from the government.

However, when the Supreme Court overturned Roe V. Wade this year, taking away bodily autonomy from millions of women, Clarence Thomas put a concurring opinion stating the Supreme Court “should reconsider” its past rulings codifying rights to contraception access, same-sex relationships and same-sex marriage.

In response, the U.S. House of Representatives introduced H.R. 8373, otherwise known as the “Right to Contraception Act.”

What does the bill say?

It’s a straightforward bill. It says: A person has a statutory right under this Act to obtain contraceptives and to engage in contraception, and a health care provider has a corresponding right to provide contraceptives, contraception, and information related to contraception.

All that means is that a person has a right to obtain birth control. and a doctor has a right to prescribe birth control. Period.

Yet, EVERY SINGLE TEXAS REPUBLICAN VOTED AGAINST IT. Here is the roll-call vote.

It’s time to call/email/tweet these regressive Representatives and give them a piece of your mind.

If you aren’t sure who your Congressperson is, you can look that up here.

Here is their contact info:

TX-1 Louie Gohmert
202-225-3035
louie.gohmert@mail.house.gov
@replouiegohmert

TX-2 Dan Crenshaw
202-225-6565
dan.crenshaw@mail.house.gov
@RepDanCrenshaw

TX-4 Pat Fallon
202-225-6673
Email
@RepPatFallon

TX-5 Lance Gooden
202-225-3484
lance.gooden@mail.house.gov
@Lancegooden

TX-6 Jake Ellzey
202-225-2002
Email
@JakeEllzey

TX-8 Kevin Brady
202-225-4901
kevin.brady@mail.house.gov
@RepKevinBrady

TX-11 August Pfluger
202-225-3605
Email
@AugustPfluger

TX-12 Kay Granger
202-225-5071
kay.granger@mail.house.gov
@RepKayGranger

TX-13 Ronny Jackson
202-225-3706
Email
@RepRonnyJackson

TX-14 Randy Weber
202-225-2831
randy.weber@mail.house.gov
@TXRandy14

TX-17 Pete Sessions
202-225-6105
Email
@PeteSessions

TX-19 Jodey Arrington
202-225-4005
jodey.arrington@mail.house.gov
@RepArrington

TX-21 Chip Roy
202-225-4236
chip.roy@mail.house.gov
@chiproytx

TX-22 Troy Nehls
202-225-5951
Email
@SheriffTNehls

TX-23 Tony Gonzales
202-225-4511
Email
@TonyGonzales4TX

TX-24 Beth Van Duyne
202-225-6605
Email
@Bethvanduyne

TX-25 Roger Williams
202-225-9896
roger.williams@mail.house.gov
@RogerWilliamsTX

TX-26 Michael C. Burgess
202-225-7772
michael.burgess@mail.house.gov
@michaelcburgess

TX-27 Michael Cloud
202-225-7742
michael.cloud@mail.house.gov
@RepCloudTX

TX-31 John Carter
202-225-3864
Email
@JudgeCarter

TX-34 Mayra Flores
202-225-9901
Email
@MayraFlores2022

TX-36 Brian Babin
202-225-1555
brian.babin@mail.house.gov
@RepBrianBabin

What kind of world are these Republicans pushing?

In November, you must vote, but that’s not good enough. You must ensure your friends and family know what the Republicans have been doing, and they must vote, too.

Everything is at stake.

You can now read an ad-free version of Living Blue in Texas and help support our mission to turn Texas blue. Sign up now.

Sign up for our weekly blog roundup:

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.
%d bloggers like this: